Weighing Heavy


​Who I was to any one person, isn’t who I am now, isn’t who my daughter is meant to be and quite frankly isn’t relevant to who WE all are now and where WE are going. I’ve decided to look back humbly. To see beauty and kindness in everyone. To acknowledge that there were hard times, scary times, exciting times and happy times, and allow the good memories to triumph the bad. To love. To recognize all that I have learned and grown from. I will not be told my past is my daughters future, that happiness is going to be harder to achieve than living negatively and that we are going to struggle in our relationships and journeys because of who I was. Life is our adventure and each path is unique to each person. I see your path as yours and don’t wish to tread in your footsteps or tell you which direction to take. I might walk next to you, or follow behind after some time, but your trail is yours and mine is mine, and our children’s trails are their own. Help each other along the way, not remind one another of where we stumbled or struggled.

*to my keiki, it’s not easy being human but you are loved beyond words and the life I lived before your arrival is not the life you will live. The person I was, no matter how funny or angry or charming is not who you will be. You are beautifully you and I celebrate that everyday.

Leave a Reply

