Fresh Tomatillo Salsa

It all started with the “ugly fruit” stand at the grocery store. Tomatillos, garlic, a lime and a tomato in one bag. Red peppers in another. All of them slightly blighted, softening and calling for a second chance. 
I love this section of the store some days. 

My cupkeiki has some sort of fascination with Tomatillos. I think it’s the leafy  cover over them and that might  just be it. Regadless, she always ask’s to get them, and when we saw them bagged up and discounted, she was excited. 

So I chopped half a red pepper, added all the tomatillos, 6 cloves of the garlic, added half of the limes juice, all of the tomato and pulsed for a few seconds leaving plenty of large pieces. Then I stirred in some chopped cilantro, salt and crushed red pepper. 

It was hard to resist just devouring the whole bowl there at the counter. A lack of chips for dipping stopped me, though the spatula was convincing me to just keep taste testing. I promised the mixture I’d return later with chips- and maybe some chili lime chicken, black beans, sweet potato and yogurt. 

I can’t wait for dinner.

One thought on “Fresh Tomatillo Salsa

Leave a Reply

