Humbled-Great Sand Dunes National Park

dunes-panorama

This past weekend I celebrated 13 years of adventure with my guy. 13 years. It’s hard to believe its been that long, and I’ve loved every minute of it-all the ups and downs and round and rounds.

To celebrate, we sent the cupkeiki away with grandma and took a 5 hour drive to The Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve. I’ve always wanted to go, and it was so much more than I expected. I was in awe, humbled, thankful, excited, and in love with everything.

dusty-and-the-dunes

The photo above is of me, that tiny dot humbled by the giant dunes.

desert-dunesbranch-in-the-sandline-of-sightridgesway

We ended up taking off our shoes and trekking around the ridges and running down the slopes barefoot. The sand was warm, the sun shone brightly and the wind-the wind blew. We had so much fun and enjoyed every minute. I can’t wait to take our cupkeiki-but perhaps in a few years when she’s not so quick to ask to be carried!

One thought on “Humbled-Great Sand Dunes National Park

  1. Dusty:

    Great Dunes pics!

    We went with your dad and Katrina and Jill when they were just about the right age to really enjoy it. Must have been about 1973. My first 35mm camera was new and I had a great time doing things that I never was able to do before. We were on top of a dune in a sand storm when I needed to put in a new roll of film. I was really afraid of getting sand inside the camera if I opened it, but the sand seemed to be staying down below 3 feet above the ground. So I stood on top of a dune with my back to the sun and wind a it worked ok.

    The other thing I remember about that trip was the cost of film and processing. I shot 4 36 exposure rolls on that trip. We were so hard up for money in those days that I could only do 1 roll every 2 weeks. (payday) Now I download into the laptop every evening and look at what Sally and I call the “rushes”.

    This trip to Glacier, etc. has been different. We had rain and fog until yesterday. We’re now in Green River, WY. Yesterday about 2 pm the Trailblazer blew a hose on the transmission cooler and we were 50 mi. N of Green River. The rest is a long story, but the car is in a shop here and we’re sitting in the motel waiting to here from the shop.

    Grandpa

    Hi Dusty,

    Love the pics in both your blogs. Keep up the great work.

    Something to think about in the Dunes: If you slide down the dunes they make a very funny noise. It is really appreciated by kids so you should take Callie before it’s too late to enjoy a slide down the dunes.

    Also, it is a long story about being stranded a long way from anywhere. Thanks goodness it was in an area for fishing and camping and nearly everyone who passed our car with the hood up checked to see if they could help. That’s how we did finally get “home” and are now waiting for the garage to call.

    See you soon – we hope,

    Love,

    Grandma

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

