Chocolate Lavender Cake

image

I have a few blogs I regularly swoon over. Local Milk is one of them, and it’s no surprise why. Her photos have the magical ability to sweep you from your current mind set and take you a place rustic natural and homey-a place you don’t want to leave.

I was looking, yesterday, for something to make with lavender. I’ve been loving a lavender sun tea that has been on constant rotation in the house but ran out of black loose leaf tea and my cupkeiki suggested cookies as a sort of make-up for not having tea available. I came across all sorts of lemon lavender concoctions but what really caught my eye was a chocolate lavender cupcake recipe from Local Milk: http://http://localmilkblog.com/2015/01/vegan-gluten-free-chocolate-lavender-cupcakes-whipped-honey-coconut-cream.html

image

I modified it to what I had and to personal taste:

Ingredients:
2C. All purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
1 tsp. Salt
1 1/2 tsp. Lavender buds, ground up
3/4 C. Cane Sugar
1/2 C. Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1 1/3 C. Coconut Milk (I used So Delicious Brand)
1/2 C. Melted Coconut Oil
2 1/2 tsp. Apple Cider Vinegar
2 tsp. Vanilla extract
Black Sea Salt (opt.) for sprinkling over finished cake

Frosting:
1/2 C. Cream Cheese
Agave

What to do:
Preheat oven to 350 degree F. Grease a cake or loaf pan (I used a loaf pan). Sift all dry ingredients (except lavender if it’s not finely ground) into a large bowl. Add lavender and combine. In a large measuring cup, combine milk, oil, vinegar and vanilla. Combine liquid into dry ingredients. Mix well, pour into prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes or until cake tester comes out dry.

If making the frosting: whisk cheese and agave together until soft. Add agave to taste.

I made a few in a silicon mold and added the cream cheese frosting and salt to them, but left the loaf as is.

This cake is moist and delicious. My cupkeiki didn’t like the frosting g but loved the cake as is. I appreciated the way the cream cheese and salt balanced out the cake, but isn’t necessary to complete the cake, as the recipe is pretty spot on with moisture and richness.

image

Leave a Reply

