Peanut butter Chocolate Hunk Cookies

Today my cupkeiki and I were out walking and she said “mama let’s make cookies today.” I asked her what kind, she said “peanut butter sounds good!” Indeed it did. We don’t eat a lot of peanut butter so it was a surprising request. 

  
I decided to try a no flour approach. I’ve had some flour less cookies before but never made any. They turned out nice, super soft and chewy. I added chocolate hunks from a brick of 70% cocoa. Literally, I just rough chopped the brick and gave myself about 1/4C. hunks. Not too much chocolate, but enough to know it’s there. This recipe is really easy to put together, so much so that my cupkeiki put most of it together, I handled the filling of measuring spoons and cups and the oven part of course!

  
Ingredients: 

1C. Creamy peanut butter (I use Skippy brand, as natural butters are too oily and don’t hold up in the oven.)

2 tsp. vanilla

1/4 C. Packed brown sugar

1/4 C. Unrefined sugar

1 tsp. Baking soda

1 large egg

1/4 C. Dark chocolate, rough chopped. 

Directions: 

In a medium sized bowl add all ingredients except chocolate, and mix with an electric mixer (opt.) or a spoon until smooth. Add chocolate, stirring in with a spoon. On a greased cookie sheet drop cookies (ours were small cookies and we made about 20). Refrigerate for about an hour, you want the dough to be chilled. Preheat oven to 350F, bake chilled cookies for about 8-10 min. Don’t over bake or they won’t be soft. 

Enjoy with a nice cold glass of milk or a cup of warm tea.

One thought on “Peanut butter Chocolate Hunk Cookies

Leave a Reply

