Lemon Curd Sweet Buns

About two years ago I bought a jar of Lemon Curd from the farmers market here in town. I had no idea what to do with it…no idea. But from the sample I tasted I knew there had to be something out there was absolutely perfect for it. Enter @yourhomebasedmom and her Lovely Lemon Rolls and *eureka* I had it.

I knew that this recipe was going to be a hit with my cupkeiki, given the rolling of dough into “snakes” and then coiling them up!

I was right, my cupkeiki loved rolling them out, coiling them and then watching them rise!

There’s always something magical about getting to brush on butter too. Even I couldn’t resist having a go at it!

We also enjoyed making the indents into the middle of the buns! I really love recipes that are just as much fun for my cupkeiki as they are for me!

Once the indents were made we filled them with the curd, and baked them.

Here’s where my cupkeiki decided that she couldn’t be a part of it anymore…that delicious lemon curd wasn’t so delicious to her.

That left me with the last part, glazing.

The lemon glaze turned out great and the buns were amazing!

I really appreciated the lightness of the dough. I however cut down the amount of sugar in both the dough and the glaze. I’d also cut the recipe in half in total because 24 small rolls or 12 large ones are still too many for my house.

Here’s the recipe from @yourhomebasedmom: http://www.yourhomebasedmom.com/lovely-lemon-rolls/

Ingredients:

Note: I’ve adapted the recipe from @yourhomebasedmom to fit my own personal taste. 

1/4 C. warm water (about 110 degrees)

1 tsp. sugar

4 1/4 tsp. active dry yeast

1 C. milk

1/4 C. butter, cut up

2 eggs

1/4 C. sugar

1/4 tsp salt

5 –> 51/2C  all purpose flour

Topping:

Lemon Curd

Melted butter, about 2 tbsp

Glaze:

1/4 C. powdered sugar

1/2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

~Mix the two together until you have a slightly think consistency.

Instructions:

1. Combine the warm water and the 1st. listed sugar, to a large bowl. Add yeast and let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes.

2. Heat the milk and the butter to 110 degrees.

3. Add milk, eggs, sugar, salt and 2 cups flour to yeast and combine well. Then add the remaining amount of flour.

4. Knead dough for 8-10 minutes on a lightly floured surface, until elastic.

5. Lightly grease (with canola) the bowl and place dough back in, cover with a towel and let rise in a warm spot for about an hour or until doubled in size.

6. Punch down dough, separate into 12 large or 24 small balls. Roll out dough into long snakes and then loosely coil them. Let rise a second time for about 20-30 minutes.

7. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, brush dough with some melted butter, make a large indent into the each roll, and fill with lemon curd. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden. Remove right away from the baking sheet, cool slightly and drizzle with the glaze.

Leave a Reply

