Spatchcocked and Braise-Roasted Chicken

IMG_7527.JPG
If you’re looking for a new and exciting recipe to try, I encourage you to try Spatchcocked and Braise-Roasted Chicken from Food52!!

I was so excited to try this one and it came out with moist meat, crispy skin and a delicious herb note.

IMG_7508.JPG
my seasoning always includes chili pepper flakes

IMG_7514.JPG
I browned my chicken in a large cast iron skillet, it worked nicely. I transferred everything in the end into a roasting pan.

IMG_7516.JPG
here it is browned and awaiting the liquid and herbs.

IMG_7520.JPG
Lemon, rosemary, garlic, onion, wine and eventually 2C. Chicken broth sautéed in the cast iron skillet with the butter from browning the chicken.

IMG_7529.JPGI added approx. 2C. Shiitake mushrooms 10 min before the chicken was done.

IMG_7527-0.JPG

I made mashed potatoes and a green salad to serve along with the chicken. With the chicken juices, I discarded the rosemary and lemon slices and thickened the sauce with cornstarch and a little half an half. The gravy was served over both the potatoes and the chicken!

Everyone thought this was really good! The recipe is great, and I’m sure I will make this again, as it was easy and delicious!!

Here’s the link: https://food52.com/recipes/8192-spatchcocked-and-braise-roasted-chicken

Leave a Reply

