Rustic Tomato Soup

IMG_7289.JPG
With the abundance of tomatos recently, I’ve been dreaming up lots of delicious ideas. I’ve incorporated them into almost all dishes I’ve made but last night tomatoes were in the spotlight.

I’ve been wanting a soup unlike any other I’ve made yet and my niece being sick made it an even better idea.

What I used:
1 medium sized onion, chopped
1 medium bunch celery, chopped
2 carrots, chopped
8 medium to large sized tomatoes, rough chopped
2 large cloves garlic, minced
5 cups water
2tsp. Beef bullion
1 tsp. tarragon
Salt and pepper to taste
2 Tbs. Paprika
1/2-1C. Half in half.
Italian sausage links, chopped into bite sized pieces
Tortellini, cheese filled.

IMG_7252.JPG
What I did:
First, sautéed carrots, onion and celery in a large skillet. I used leftover bacon grease but canola oil would work. Once onions are soft, add contents of skillet to a crockpot set on low. Add tomatoes, garlic, tarragon, paprika, salt, pepper and bullion. Stir well, close lid and let cook for at least 4 hours. After 4 hours, using an immersion blender (or food processor if you don’t have a blender) blend everything in the crockpot until it’s smooth but still has a little texture. Check taste, I went for a slightly salty and heavily influenced by paprika, taste. Cook sausage thoroughly, add to soup. Cook on low until ready to eat. Cook tortellini according to package directions. Add half and half to crock pot before serving and mix well. Check spices, of course. Serve soup over tortellini!

I truly appreciated the texture the tomatoes have, skin and seeds included. I think everyone expected this to taste, when told we were having tomato soup, like a pre made soup. However, the overall consensus was that it was really good and the difference from what was expected was what really added to the experience!

IMG_7278.JPG

Leave a Reply

