Pistachio Kale Pesto over Zucchini Noodles

20140722-153412-56052891.jpg
Yummy. One word. Creative. Another word. Never would have considered putting all these things together and having it turn out so good. A lot of words.

I knew once I saw the post on The Edible Perspective (a Fort Collins based blog about food and photography), for Kale Pesto with pistachios, zucchini noodles and cherries that I had to try it. Had to. I waited until our CSA delivered Kale and a second zucchini to our weekly pickup last Saturday, and made a quick trip to the store for cherries and pistachios.

20140722-153554-56154333.jpg

I, of course, made some modifications. I added grilled chicken breast marinated in olive oil, salt, pepper and chili pepper flakes. I also crumbled chèvre over everything. I had the purple stemmed kale instead of dinosaur kale, like the recipe called for. I’m not sure I would have known the taste difference between the two anyway.

I was blown away by the entire dish! It was simple and nourishing. I mixed everything on the plate together, but plated things separately for the look of the dish.

Check out The Edible Perspectives blog for the full recipe. http://www.edibleperspective.com/home/2014/7/16/pistachio-kale-pesto-with-zucchini-noodles-cherries-giveaway.html

20140722-153651-56211021.jpg

Leave a Reply

