Fathers Day Frittata

20140615-110447-39887173.jpg

This morning I woke up to happy faces. My cupkeiki wanted to have her dads full attention which gave me a moment to slip away and come up with a breakfast plan for the two fathers in the house (the other being my brother-in-law).

I’ve never made a frittata before, but decided that it sounded like a good celebratory breakfast; with the right ingredients of course.

It turned out perfectly, despite my worry over burning the eggs or not having enough flavor. And I was able to use up some of the spinach from our CSA with Revive Gardens!!

I used:
2 mild Italian sausage links, fully cooked and cut in half, then diced.
5 mini protebello mushrooms, quartered.
1 tomato, diced in large pieces
1/4 of an onion, diced.
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4C. Butter
8 eggs
About 2 C. Fresh spinach, chopped
Roughly:
1Tbs. Dried Oregano
2 tsp. paprika
1/4tsp. Red Pepper Flakes
Salt and pepper to taste.
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese

In a large, cast iron skillet, I sautéed the onions in the butter until tender, added sausage and garlic, mushrooms, and spinach. In a large bowl I whisked the eggs and spices and stirred in half the cheese. Once eggs were whisked I added them to the skillet, running a flexible spatula around the edge of the skillet to keep the egg from sticking to much.

Cook covered on med-low cook until the frittat’s edges are firmly set and the center is firm (8-15min.). Remove lid, top frittata with remaining cheese and broil until cheese is bubbly. Remove from oven and allow to set for a minute, then cut into wedges and serve!

20140615-110542-39942316.jpg

20140615-110606-39966854.jpg

20140615-110645-40005435.jpg

20140615-110701-40021672.jpg

Leave a Reply

