Chia Key Lime Pie

20140401-090047.jpg

20140401-090008.jpg

You know what I love? When I try something not yet done by someone else and it turns out brilliantly delicious!! That’s the way yesterday went. My sister-in-law had wanted Key Lime Pie, we had the lime left over from her bday party, but with being sick, and travels, it got sidelined.

JP (aka: sis-in-law) and I have been on a “less sugar” approach to our diets and the recipe JP sent me seemed rather sugary. I decided to venture out, to get creative and develop a slightly less sugary approach to Key Lime Pie. I searched the internet to see if there were any other attempts first, and of course there were a few, but they weren’t what I wanted. I didn’t want to use coconut milk, or any nondairy milk, I didn’t want to use almonds for my crust. I knew I wanted the savory taste of butter and didn’t want sour cream or sour yogurt in the pie filling. I wanted something similar to the real deal, with a few modifications. So instead of using two cans of sweetened condensed milk, I used one, filled that little can up again with regular milk, and added 3/4 C. Chia Seeds. I felt this solved a big part of the sugar issue, in my head, because it’s really amazing just how much sugar is in those little condensed cans! Also, the chia helped to replace the thickener aspect of the yogurt or cream cheese or sour cream, helping cut out some of the fat. I did however make a cream cheese frosting, but not much, just enough to lightly cover the surface and give that slightly bitter cheese taste to the sour of the limes. A great balance. I kept the crust basic because a graham cracker crust just says “pie” to me.

Everyone seemed pleasantly surprised by the pie, one friend said I should sell it, that I could “make a killing” off it. This friend had a difficult time watching the leftover pie sit in the plate too, that always puts a smile on my face! So I hope that anyone looking to try a new approach to Key Lime Pie will give this a try, it really is delicious-and I’m my worst critic when it comes to my food!

20140401-090140.jpg

20140401-090201.jpg

20140401-090354.jpg

20140401-090648.jpg

20140401-090702.jpg and here is how we look when we get pie in the morning too!

Here’s the recipe!

Crust:
1 1/2C. Graham Cracker Crumbs.
3 Tbs. Melted butter
2 Tbs. Sugar

Filling:
1 14oz. Can sweetened Condensed Milk
14. Ounces milk (reuse the sweetened milk can!)
3/4 C. Chia Seeds.
2/3 C. Fresh squeezed Key Limes
(I didn’t have a complete amount of 2/3 C. Key Limes, so I added pure lime juice to get the whole amount)

Frosting:
4oz. Cream Cheese
3Tbs. Melted Butter
Approx. 1/4 C. Powdered Sugar.

What to do:
Preheat oven to 325F degrees.
First make the filling. Combine sweetened milk, regular milk and chia seeds in a medium sized bowl. Stir to combine and add the lime juice. Mix well and refrigerate for an hour, stirring about every 15 minutes to help thicken and keep consistency.
Make graham cracker crumbs. Combine crumbs with sugar and butter. Press crumb mixture into a 9 inch pie plate. Bake in oven for 10 minutes and allow to cool. Once cooled, and pudding is thick, pour pudding into pie crust and bake (with oven still at 325F) for 7 minutes. Allow plate to cool. While pie cools, mix with an electric mixer, cream cheese, butter and powdered sugar until soft and fully combined. Spread evenly and carefully, as the chia seeds are easily picked up by the cheese, over the pie, and refrigerate pie until ready to serve!

It may seem like a lot of effort but really it isn’t, and if you have a helper; a cupkeiki of your own, itreally seems like minimal effort for a delicious pie!

Leave a Reply

