DIY Heart Piñatas!

20140129-142309.jpg

Looking for a fun craft for valentines day that both you and your keiki can do together? Look no further than this DIY from, wait for it, GLITTER GUIDE!! Yup, I’m in full on GlitterGuide DIYness!!

Today was a test run, to see just how well we could do this together. What I figured out is that until you’re ready to fill them, and use the glue, it’s pretty much just mama craft time. Which works, I’m certainly not complaining.

This was fun and easy and a great excuse to recycle an old card board box and bust out all the craft gear!! Check out the tutorial here: http://theglitterguide.com/2014/01/28/diy-mini-heart-pinatas/?slide=4#content

We used construction paper in place of tissue paper and this one was filled with crumpled paper, to keep it’s form. I can’t wait to make and fill more, with special little gifts! I’m thinking a project involving tiny rice hand warmers may be in the near future!!

Be sure to check out the link, or figure most of it out from my pictures below, it’s pretty simple, and get crafty!!

20140129-140438.jpg
I used a heart shaped cookie cutter, from a set that I picked up at Target, for my shape. Traced it onto the cardboard and then cut out the hearts.

20140129-140622.jpg
I measured two inches along a piece of brown construction paper, and cut that along the length of the paper, giving me a 2″x11″ strip. I made small cuts along both sides of the strip so that I could easily wrap the paper around the cardboard and used masking tape to hold it all in place.

20140129-140950.jpg

20140129-141009.jpg

20140129-141026.jpg
Once that part was finished, I took purple and pink construction paper, cut them into 2″x4″ squares and made slits along the bottom edge, to add frill. We glued them on from bottom to top. After the glue set up, I trimmed the edges, to keep the Heart shape. I also cut 3 strips wide enough to conceal the edge of the heart, and using the cookie cutter, cut a solid heart for the back.

20140129-141347.jpg

20140129-141405.jpg

20140129-141442.jpg

20140129-141519.jpg

I think that for the next ones, I will use cute pattered tissue paper, and really make sure everything looks…as perfect as we can get it! I can’t wait to share how those work out with you all!

Leave a Reply

