Pears…they’re a texture thing

20130928-114152.jpg

Remember when you were a kid in school and somedays for lunch you got, pears in a cup?! Bleh!!! What else can you say about those cups of awfulness? I’ve never gotten past the disgusting nature of pears in thick gross syrup, and have also never trusted a pear to not taste like that. I also have a tiny issue with the texture, it doesn’t feel right…to my tongue, so I sort of avoid them, or have tried to anyway. That changed with our CSA share with Ela Farms, where we got three weeks of them. Time to grow up and eat the damn pears!

Last night, in an attempt to be creative with pears I made a pear and currant crisp. At first bite, I was relieved that the pears didn’t taste too grainy, or like those from elementary days! In fact, my cupkeiki even chowed down on it, as did my niece, her friend and my brother in law. Win win!

Here’s my recipe:

Ingredients:
6 small Bartlett pears, peeled, cored and cubed.
1Tbs. Flour
2 Tbs. Honey
11/2 Tbs. Lemon juice
1/4C. Currants
Then…
A half Cup for each of the following: flour, packed brown sugar, butter, and rolled oats.

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375F, and grease a pie dish. Mix pears, currants, flour, honey and lemon juice in a medium sized bowl. Dump pear mixture into pie dish. Using the same bowl, mix together the flour, oats, brown sugar and butter until crumbly (use your fingers, it’s more exciting). Top pear mixture with oat mixture and bake for 45min or until crisp on top.

20130928-114018.jpg

20130928-114046.jpg

Leave a Reply

