No Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Yesterday my cupkeiki, who has been nothing but adorable the last few days, was asking for cookies. “Make cookies mama, puhweese”. Oh it just gets me in the feelers every time. So I went to the flour tin (yes, in our house we use tins) and discovered the flour supply drastically low. Time for a change in cookie thinking! The first thing that came to mind was, believe it or not, high school. Our lunch ladies always made these fantastic no bake chocolate oatmeal cookies, they were the highlight of the lunch day whenever they made them (in general all the food was delicious, a perk of going to an incredibly small school!), so I started my online search for the perfect recipe. I knew I didn’t want peanut butter in it, and didn’t have enough quick oats to make very much so I needed a good chocolate and rolled oats recipe, which I found here at Eat, Drink, Smile: http://www.eat-drink-smile.com/2013/04/chocolate-oatmeal-no-bake-cookies.html

I made one tiny change to her recipe, instead of 2C. Sugar, I used 11/2C. I also added some dried coconut and dried banana (I chopped up about 1/4 cup of organic sweetened banana chips). It was easy, satisfying, and although my cupkeiki hasn’t taken to liking them just yet (which is ok, I’m not a sweets pusher with her) everyone was happy to eat them up!

Chocolate Oatmeal No-Bake Cookies

Ingredients:
1 1/2 C. Sugar
6 Tbs. Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
1 Stick Unsalted Butter
1/2 C. Milk
1tsp. Vanilla
3 C. Rolled Oats
Extra:
1/4 C. Org. Dried Sweetned Banana Chips, chopped
Handful of Org. Unsweetened Coconut Flakes

Directions:
Mix the first four ingredients in a medium sized sauce pan, bring to a boil. Add vanilla. Remove from heat and stir in oats, coconut flakes and banana chips (if using extra ingredients). Drop by spoonfuls on to wax paper and allow to cool completely.

20130926-104052.jpg

20130926-104109.jpg

20130926-104132.jpg

20130926-104157.jpg

20130926-104232.jpg

Leave a Reply

