DIY Koinobori

20130911-145836.jpg

I got this great idea from http://squirrellyminds.com/2013/05/03/koinobori-japanese-flying-carp-diy/ on making a Koinobori. I know that these fish are made for boys day in Japan, but I was just looking for a craft I thought my cupkeiki would enjoy.

Instead of paper tubes I used an empty (and washed out) Starbucks cup. I also couldn’t find the double sided tape so I wound up using glue, which makes the whole project take longer, but it’s not really about doing it quickly as much as it as about having fun. I also didn’t make a bunch of circles out of the tissue paper- I’m working with a two year old here. Instead I cut strips of tissue and the made my own wavy and not uniform, patterns.

20130911-145516.jpg

20130911-145532.jpg

Leave a Reply

