Health

Health is such a broad topic anymore, it’s almost, sometimes, a discouraging topic because what society or the media encourages health to be can sometimes be unrealistic or dangerous. Trends in health flip flop frequently. One minute something is so amazingly good for you it’s a question of why you haven’t been doing it all your life. The next minute all those claims are bogus or not healthy and you should have never involved yourself with them. How can a person truly be healthy when the guidelines are constantly blurred with what is popular?

My idea of health had changed many times throughout my earlier years. My views on what was healthy involving nutrition, exercise, and mental/spiritual wellness was largely based on fads, and I struggled with all of it. Then a few things happened. 1. I went to university for kinesiology and exercise science. 2. I got pregnant had a baby and got really really sick.

My time at UH Hilo and my studies, pushed me far, far away from following fads and pop culture views. I learned about whole body health. Discovered that being healthy is a balancing act, and it’s constant. One can’t just decide that eating no carbs or exercising like a lunatic solves it all. It takes a nutritious diet, proper exercise and a positive outlook on all aspects of life. That of course is in a nutshell, it is a lot more detailed and involved.

My second awakening toward health was pregnancy and postpartum. I didn’t start pregnancy off on the right weight. I felt I was too heavy. My midwife thought I was fine, but it wasn’t what I had imagined for myself. During my pregnancy I was more actively dedicated to health than I had maybe ever been. I had routines, I had nutrition guidelines. I had one of the happiest and most positive outlooks on life that I had ever had-you could say I was on an incredible natural high and I loved it. My cupkeiki was born with no complications and it was beautiful, I actually got to pull her out once her shoulders were through, it was amazing. Then, within a week, I got mastitis. I followed mastitis with a bout of C. Difficile, then mastitis, then C. Difficile, then an abscessed tooth that was the size of a tennis ball, then C. Difficile, again. I went through three treatments of vancomyocin and I’ll be lucky if I beat it. The very thought of ever being on an antibiotic scares me because I know that C. Difficile has followed every course of antibiotic I have had in the last two years and it has been one of the most terrible things I have ever had to repeatedly endure. It also is something I fear for my family, as C. Difficile is incredibly contagious and I, unfortunately and unintentionally, exposed my family to it while my spouse cared for me and my cupkeiki. Knowing I have this forces me to want to stay as healthy as possible.

There’s a third factor, which is maybe more important than anything else and that is, I need to be healthy for my family. I need to eat well, exercise and think positively for my cupkeiki and my spouse. I also need to encourage a healthy lifestyle for them, I have to cook nutritious meals, encourage regular activity and foster a nurturing and positive environment for our home. It’s not always the easiest thing to do, but it’s my job and it’s what I love and am passionate about.

Leave a Reply

