Positivity

“We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves.” Buddha

I think it’s silly to admit to the world, but I “unfriended” a person today because I had finally had enough of their caustic posts. I don’t need to go into their post details, but I feel like it’s something I want to write about. Why? Because this person is a mother, and every time I read her posts I honestly thought to myself, “how can someone write stuff like this and not think about how this affects their relationship with their child?” We are role models to our children. I admit that sometimes I want to post rants about things that frustrate me, but I stop and ask myself, “is it really the best thing to do?” The answer is always no, and here’s why: it reflects on me as a person, and it also affects my personality, behavior, my mood and my reactions to everything around me. That goes into the mother part. I believe that if you say it, write it, or even think it, you will have a reaction, physically or mentally, to it. What does that mean for your child?  Think about it! I’m certainly not saying this person is a bad mother, and I’m not saying that I’m the worlds best mother; what I am saying is that thinking, writing, saying or believing something affects the way we interact with other people, including our children and I realized after reading her post today that every time I read a post I became slightly aggressive feeling and didn’t like it. I don’t have time as a mother, a teacher, a person who has influence over another person’s life, to be negative like that. I’ve got to focus on the positive things; even if it’s about how frustrating it is that my keiki won’t eat greens and how I can change that. It may be a negative thought, but there is a positive process occurring, where I want to make the right change, want to set the right example, want to nurture her positively. Is this a frustrating rant? Yes, but it’s worth writing, it’s worth re-reading and worth realizing that I, as a person and parent, want to be positive and to do so I’ve got to think and act positively. Maybe more importantly; if I’m going to raise a confident, independent, and positive child, I have to be the one to set that example.

Here are some thoughts on positivity that have influenced me today:

“It takes but one positive thought when given a chance to survive and thrive to overpower an entire army of negative thoughts.” Robert H. Schuller

“Once you start replacing negative thoughts with positive ones, you’ll start having positive results.” Willie Nelson

“People deal too much with the negative, with what is wrong. Why not try and see positive things, to just touch those things and make them bloom?” Nhat Hanh

“I believe in karma, and I believe if you put out positive vibes to everybody, that’s all you’re going to get back.” Kesha

 

Leave a Reply

