Food Fun.

It’s funny how CSA distributions can vary from week to week. It seems all summer has been filled with an abundance of Cilantro, Parsley, Green Onion, Peaches, Apricots and Apples. Yesterday, as my cupkeiki and I rode to the pick up spot, I was hoping that I would be able to use my mama-isdom (eek, that’s a bit silly there) to arrange everything into the bike trailer and backpack. Last week, oh if only I had had my camera, my poor cupkeiki was buried under a mountain of fresh veggies. She didn’t seem to mind, but I realized as I rode up the bike ramp to the bank; and everyone that passed gave me a strange look, that we get a lot of food and maybe I should bring a backpack and spare the lil miss. So, yesterday came and I was well prepared and then what happens…there are hardly any veggies. A little spinach, a kohlrabi I have no idea what to do with, tomatoes, onions, apples, a zucchinni and lettuce. I’m not complaining, it was just a shocker to have such a light load!

Last night we went with a Mexican themed dish: Fajitas, sort of. Thin strips of seasoned steak seared with red, yellow, green and orange peppers, a little hot pepper for spice, about 6 tomatoes and 7 tomatillos, onion and garlic. We served it next to a little serving of refried beans, a mango- avocado-tomatillo-jalapeno salsa, and tortilla. It was so good I’m tempted to have it for breakfast but will probably hold off until lunch.

I sort of hate last minute phone pics for food…must get better with the camera at meal time!

Image

Now that my cupkeiki is up, I’m off to make mango pancakes for us, a little tea for me and see where the day takes us!

Just in case there are any Ft. Collins, or Northeast CO readers, tonight there is a new event for downtown Fort Collins called, FORToberfest. Everyone is encouraged to come in costume, and ride their bikes!! There will be live local music, beer and food. It starts at 5:00 p.m. and continues on Saturday! http://downtownfortcollins.com/dba.php/fortoberfest/

3 thoughts on “Food Fun.

    1. I wish I could say I have some fancy recipe for pancakes, but I cheat there. I use Krusteaz mix, dice up a mango add it to the batter. This morning I did mango and crystallized ginger. I love putting banana and chocolate chips in the batter too. Fruit and pancakes are a great pairing!

Leave a Reply

