Getting Slimy!!

Image

Yesterday, my grandma came for a play date. One thing I always think of when I think of her is, crafts! As a child, when we would visit her, she would have something interactive and usually homemade to do that could last us hours. I had found, online, a DIY Slime idea for my cupkeiki to try and thought grandma would like to get involved too. This activity was cheap ($15.00), fun, easy and could easily keep any keiki busy for hours, or days!

To start with, I decided to use Elmers Glitter Glue, it just looked more exciting. I bought two bottles of clear glue as well, for backup. We wound up going with two different approaches toward mixing, I’ll give you guys the one I thought worked best: 1 bottle (6ounces) Glitter Glue, 1/4 Cup (approx) Sta Flo liquid starch. That’s it!! The trick is mixing though. Dump the glue in a bowl and slowly add the starch until you get the desired slimy consistency, you have to mix with your hands too! It’s the only way to tell when your slime is slimy enough! This is where the approximately 1/4 Cup comes in. You may need more, or less, depending on how thick or or thin you want your slime, we found that with just the 1/4 Cup Sta Flo, the mix was less stretchy, so we added a little (maybe 2 tbs) more to it, which helped. You’re going to have to play with the ratios to get get what you want!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

After changing my cupkeiki’s outfit (this stuff should not be played with in your nice clothes!!) and putting her down for a nap, Grandma and I had a cup of tea and got a little silly with the

slime…

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

After 20 minutes of napping (not a long enough nap in my opinion), my cupkeiki was back up and ready for more!

Image

Image

Image

 

Image

I put the slime in a bag and tossed it in the fridge for another day. We’ll see how long it lasts in there, or we may see if we can make shapes/sculptures and dry it out. This was a great project, and hands on experience definitely worth doing again!

Leave a Reply

