Keeping up with Apples, Making Chips

Image

I had originally thought keeping up with all the peaches from our CSA would be a chore, then I discovered that it may just be apples and pears that really make me work! I saw this recipe for apple chips on the ” A Beautiful Mess” blog and decided to give it a try, with a few of my own additions: http://www.abeautifulmess.com/2012/09/homemade-apple-chips.html?pintix=1.

I’m glad I did, it was fun making them, and the house smells wonderful right now!

Image

I used 6 Akane apples from our CSA. I thin sliced them using a mandolin.

Image

Once the apples were sliced, I put 1/2tsp of each ground cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger in a medium bowl, added some water, mixed the spices in the water, and then added all the apples, making sure they were covered with water (which meant adding more) stirred them around and then let them soak for 15min.

Image

Image

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and use a cooling rack on top of a baking sheet to bake. Lay out the apples side by side. I had to bake mine for about 30 minutes, then I turned off the oven and removed the baking sheet and let them sit in the oven for another 10 minutes on the cooling rack. If you make them, you may have to make adjustments to the time.

Image

 

Put them in an airtight container and enjoy!

 

 

My cupkeiki was a big help too, from baking to taste testing!

Image

Image

Image

7 thoughts on “Keeping up with Apples, Making Chips

    1. Thanks, everyone here has been in favor of them, and they are certainly not the type to hold back their thoughts on food 🙂 Linked up too!

Leave a Reply

