Glad for Gladiolus

Image

This morning my cupkeiki and I got up late…or early, depending on your view of 8:00 on a Saturday morning, to go to the farmers market. I usually don’t buy much, our CSA has done a pretty good job of keeping us stocked up on veggies and herbs. What I do buy, and have done all summer, are Gladiolus’; which I just learned (just now in fact) are also the birth flower for August, my keiki’s birth month (it’s a silly mom thing to get excited over that piece of trivia I guess). Anyway, I love walking around the market place, smelling the food, listening to farmers/vendors sell their products, watch the children running around, and buying fresh flowers. I also love putting them on the table. There is something wonderful about having fresh, vibrant flowers in the house that cheers me up, as well as everyone else in the home; including my cupkeiki! According to a study in the Journal of Evolutionary Psychology titled: “An Environmental Approach to Positive Emotion: Flowers”, there is something to be said for how flowers can impact our mood and just how far back (thousands of years!) people have been cultivating and giving them to do such a thing! You should probably read it, knowledge is a good thing, and it’s fun!!

http://www.epjournal.net/wp-content/uploads/ep03104132.pdf

I’m going to share my pictures of my “make me glad Gladiolus” I bought today. Maybe just seeing the images will make you happier! I had some great natural lighting coming in through the windows to work with, which also made me really happy!

Soft but vibrant.

Image

Image

Image

A vase of flowers, and a counter top full of fresh fruits!

Image

I added some Cosmos to the bunch.

Image

Image

 

The Larimer County Farmers’ Market will keep going, Saturdays from 8:00-12:00 until October 27. Check out the website for a list of events and vendors; like Grant Family Farms, our CSA provider! http://larimercountyfarmersmarket.colostate.edu/

http://www.grantfarms.com/

Leave a Reply

